Action alert

New Jersey DT and DMTs

Licensing Act Update

Legislative update from 10/9/2019: view here 

Updated CEU requirements 2018/2019

Act 74 of 2016, signed by PA Governor Wolf, requires licensees of the State Board of Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors to complete 1 hour of continuing education in the assessment, treatment and management of suicide risk. 

 

Beginning with the current biennial renewal cycle (March 1, 2017 through February 28, 2019), licensees must complete 1 hour of continuing education in suicide prevention as a condition of license renewal.

 

If the word "suicide" or a derivative of the word "suicide" is contained in the title  of a suicide prevention course/program taken through an approved provider, the continuing education earned can be used towards satisfying the suicide prevention continuing education requirement. If the course/program pertains to suicide prevention and the title of the course/program does not contain the word "suicide", the approved provider of the course/program must indicate on the certification of attendance/completion the number of hours of suicide prevention continuing education earned.

 

NOTE: The required 1 hour of continuing education in suicide prevention is separate from the required 3 hours of continuing education in ethics. The two requirements may not be combined. 

Fact Sheet ©2018 Pennsylvania Counseling Association | PCA 

© 2018 Pennsylvania Chapter of ADTA